The Sacraments

The community of Christians, or Christian Community, is the worldwide movement that brings the reality and spiritual potency of the ancient church into the age of the free individual. All seven sacraments have changed dramatically in taking on their modern form.*

Receives and blesses the child into the religious community, represented particularly by the godparents.

Takes place at the age of fourteen to strengthen and support a young person’s path into life.

The Sacrament of Reconciliation (also known as Consultation)
Is religious counseling regarding one’s destiny. It supports the individual’s efforts to take responsibility for his or her life. (By request and confidential)

The Act of Consecration of Man
The Eucharist, the Sacrament of bread and wine, is the archetypal form of Christian worship. It is now called The Act of Consecration of Man and consists of four steps that reveal in visible form at the altar what happens as an invisible process in the spirit when we connect with the living Christ.

Last Anointing
Along with the burial ritual, helps the dying to free themselves from the body and move into body-free spiritual life.

Ordination of Priests
The sacraments are performed by the priest through the power conferred by the Sacrament of Ordination. In The Christian Community both men and women can become priests.

Blesses the decision of a man and woman to share community of life, supported by two chosen witnesses.


*Paragraph by Daniel Hafner

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Movement for Religious Renewal

The Christian Community in the Greater Toronto Area